Mind the window

when the window calls to my eyes I can’t help but go
go to the far end of the sky
go into the mountains and into the wild

this time I take the stale air between us with me
and scatter it across the frozen lake

I navigate through marvellous mazes
where colours keep me high and hopes keep me full

until you touch my knee
and the wind smacks me in the face
as I reluctantly return to this cube
this greyscale landscape
the perfect backdrop
for your disappointed eyes

Leave a Reply

